Testimonials

"Michael is an excellent real estate broker. He is very knowledgeable about the market and is a great resource. He is always professional and extremely responsive to client needs. One of the things that impressed me most about Michael is his commitment to his clients. He responded immediately to any questions we had, brainstormed with us, took care or details and made himself available to us whenever we needed him. He made the stressful process of buying and selling much easier and enjoyable for us."

-- Don and Linda S., September 2017

"Kavita and I want to thank you for helping us in buying our beautiful home for our family! It has been truly a joy knowing you.

“We had been looking for a dream house that all of us liked for many years.  You have been with us on this journey all along. You clearly understood our values, culture, tradition, and the sentiments we were looking in a house. The patience you showed while walking us through many houses in Newton and Weston is most appreciated. Regardless of the weather, you were there for us on this precious milestone. We developed immense faith in your guidance, learning your honesty and pristine work ethic.

“What we admired most was the patience you displayed, the way you carefully listened to our opinions and the time and space you gave us to think about different houses as we walked through.

“Your knowledge of the market and accurate assessment of home values provided us with assurance and confidence as a buyer.  The eagerness with which you discussed the positives and negatives of each house we saw, particularly taking our tastes and opinions into consideration was very valuable to us.  You made this entire process of finding a suitable home for our family -a memorable happy journey.

“In this journey, you have become a very dear friend to our family.

“We wish you and your family a fabulous summer and please stay in touch!”

-- Kavita and Ranga N., July 2017

 

“Michael was recommended to me by Marie LeBlanc of Transitions Liquidations Services. I already knew of Hammond since my mother got their brochures in the mail, but they have hundreds of agents—how do you choose? I live in NH, so I didn’t know anyone in Newton. I had to interview several other agents, just to be sure, but I knew that I had liked Michael from the first. He’s truly dedicated to his job because he really loves it with a passion, and it shows. Also, he’s very knowledgeable about Newton real estate. He always answered my emails or phoned me back quickly, and made the sale of my mother’s townhouse go very smoothly. 

“He went above the call of duty the last week before the townhouse closed, to find a commemorative coin set which my mom had hidden in the wall of the utility room. He had to reach very high under the fiberglass to locate it—I would never have found it, I was only looking at eye level. He also recommended an excellent interior designer who staged the house very nicely. He will tell you if you are paying too much for repair work. He is knowledgeable about mechanical type stuff also. He’s direct and to the point on what you need to know. If you connect with his personality, then I would recommend you hire him, and forget about looking elsewhere.”

-- Renee B., June 2017

 

“Michael Rothstein is an excellent Realtor and a consummate professional in every sense;

“Michael's integrity and honesty are paramount, but more than that, his humanity shines forth in all he does. Michael has an eye for detail and heart for personal relationships, which make him a joy to work with. He is thorough and caring and intelligent, with a sense of humor and respect which encourages dignity throughout the entire process.

“Michael is committed and honest and combines his years of experience in the market and his savvy perspective to help coach all parties through to the most successful win-win outcome possible.

“We can't recommend Michael highly enough -- he is a terrific Realtor and an incredible person.  We are all so deeply grateful to have had his stellar help in handling the transaction of our family house sale with patience and generosity. Michael is a treasure to the community and a shining credit to his profession!

“Working with Michael & having him in our life professionally and personally is a gift you will treasure -- he is a star!”

-- Megan P., June 2017

“We knew Michael to be honest and hard-working, so it was a no-brainer to choose him as our broker! Every aspect of the process went smoothly; Michael was there if we needed advice or had any questions.”

-- Paul and Katie H., January 2017

“Thanks, Michael. We really appreciated your perspective and now I have lots of homework/research to do.  We will let you know when we are ready to sell. We were very impressed with your knowledge. Great meeting you, too.”

-- Ann and Jim S., January 2017

“It was a pleasure doing business with Michael Rothstein. He is a true professional. Everything went smoothly with a perfect marketing plan and the house was sold in just three days. Couldn't be happier.”

-- Pete and MaryEllen D., January 2017

 

"Michael Rothstein of Hammond Residential Real Estate got an attractive offer for my house in eight days. In a matter of weeks that potential buyer moved happily into my former residence. What is so appealing about Michael is his knowledge of the market, his expertise in solving nagging problems that arise during the transaction process, and his unequivocal honesty. 

“He's a standup guy who will do almost anything to make the sale of a house and the moving process astonishingly smooth, devoid of stress. You never doubt that he is in your corner. He's like your best friend or caring brother or sister. He's remarkable, deserving the highest recommendation."

-- Kelly W., August 2016

"A million thank yous to real estate guru, Michael Rothstein, for his expertise and outstanding work in finding our perfect home. I recently closed on my second home in Newton with Michael as broker. Although he found us our dream home, I would be willing to sell it tomorrow to work with Michael again. Michael is an outstanding professional – he knows the intricacies of the real estate market in Newton, is an excellent communicator, continually advocates for his clients, and also is well connected and respected in the greater real estate community.

“Michael continually goes beyond the call of duty.  For example, there was one home that I fell in love with, but Michael gave me objective and sage advice – he provided a thorough price comparison of recent homes to show it was overpriced, dug around in the cellar with me to show structural issues, and provided me the tools to realize that it was not the right home for me. When I did find the perfect home, Michael counseled me wisely on making a competitive offer that allowed a successful bid in this very competitive market, but still remained within budget. On the walk through on the day of the closing, there were some items left in the basement and garage, and the air filter on the air conditioner was broken. Michael sent me to the closing and then jumped to action, organized a junk repair man to clean out the property immediately and then went to Home Depot to buy air filters. I give him my highest possible recommendation!”

-- Lorelei M., August 2016

 

“We recently purchased our third home with Michael as our broker. One of the reasons that we continue to work with him is his long-term view of client relationships. He not only understands the market, but he takes the time to understand the values and needs of his clients. In this most recent purchase he was instrumental in the negotiation process and helped us buy a wonderful new home for our family. Michael is knowledgeable, personable and committed to his clients!”  

-- Jane and O’Neil O., July 2016

"I wanted to thank you for the helping us purchase our new home.  You calmly guided us through the process and kept us focused on the end goal -- A wonderful home in beautiful neighborhood.  

“The little things really made the difference to us.  You always seemed to answer your phone immediately and greeted me personally. You very rarely took another call when we were together although I heard your phone buzzing.  Most importantly, you called immediately when you saw something that we may question.  Honestly, now the many questions seem foolish because you fully explained everything to us – with a sense of humor.

“I can see you have a sincere and honest passion for your profession.  Not only do you facilitate the buying and selling of houses you support families in finding new homes.  Our new home, as I’m being told by our new neighbors, had been in the same family since it was built by the previous owner’s grandfather.  You made it possible for us to take over stewardship of a property with history and standing in the community.  You were there to celebrate our success.  I can’t ask for anything more … except … ask you over for a beer when you have a chance.” 

-- Charlie D., April 2016

“Michael was great to work with.  Beginning with our very first meeting, he gave us thoughtful and important advice about preparing to put our house on the market.  We had already moved to California, so preparing the house to be shown was a challenge.  He recommended a wonderful firm, Home Transition Resource that essentially did everything for us, including de-cluttering, staging, packing and finding movers.  Michael did careful research to advise us on the asking price, then organized open houses.  When we got an offer, he helped negotiate the selling price and helped us find an excellent real estate lawyer.  Almost the entire process was done in our absence and with little stress.  All in all, it was a great experience, and we highly recommend Michael.”

-- Marc and Marcia K., April 2016

“You have been a stellar guide and facilitator every step of the way for the selling our two family houses and family home in Newton.  It could have been an enormous challenge, as we live in D.C. and were in Newton only part-time.  We were daunted by all that loomed ahead; but, from the first moment, you gave us professional, clear information and strategic options.  You made sure every process went smoothly and went out of your way to take care of extra issues that came up along the way.  We always felt confident with your advice and knowledge.”

-- Yvonne B. and Thomas H., December 2015

“Michael is a frank and honest guy. My partner and I saw many properties in the areas that we were looking in; Michael frankly assessed what was overpriced, what was strange, and finally, even in the property we finally bought, what was strong and weak about it in the current real estate market (it turns out, of course, that we didn't mind the 'weaknesses,' but we were very happy to know the context). Our property has appreciated remarkably since we bought it, just as Michael predicted. I have recommended Michael to my colleagues, and I recommend him to anyone looking in the area.”

-- James N., May 2015

“I cannot recommend Michael Rothstein highly enough   He has a warm, friendly, unpretentious and disarming manner.  He is a professional and he is extremely knowledgeable, attentive, and right on the money!  Michael gave me the perfect advice and steered me in the perfect direction to buy the exact place I wanted!  Michael was always available for advice, support and encouragement.  

“I had an absolutely wonderful experience working with Michael Rothstein. It's too bad I don’t get to go house shopping more often; he made the whole thing relatively painless and absolutely fun!”

-- Jill B., May 2015

Michael was wonderful to work with on both the purchase and sale of our first home. A consummate professional, Michael led us through each step of the process with precision and skill, clearly educating about and keeping us focused on key elements to be successful. He provided excellent guidance and direction, based on his many years of experience, communicated extremely well, and most importantly, listened to and addressed our needs and concerns. We highly recommend him to anyone buying or selling a home in the Boston area."

-- Rebecca C., November 2014

"We are really happy to have worked with you on our recent sale – you did a great job and were so pleasant to work with -- and we are already singing your praises to others."

-- Liz A., November 2014

I am writing to you, albeit with a delay (as you know we have been traveling a lot) to thank you for your help in our recent move. First of all, we appreciate your patience. You stood by us, even though for a long time we were not sure whether we wanted to move, and then whatever was available did not seem a right place for us. Obviously it is hard to decide to move to an apartment after almost half a century of living in a one family house. Finally you found us an apartment as close as possible to what we wanted. Your guidance was invaluable in making the offer for it and having it accepted. Also, your advice about selling our house was great and because of that we avoided the common mistake of showing off what our house was like, while the buyers obviously wanted to see what THEY could do with the house. Thanks to that, the house sold in an unbelievable one day. Last but not least, your advice was most helpful in the actual process of moving and preparing the apartment to suit us.

“I can now tell you that we are almost settled in our apartment.  You should see it soon when you come to us for dinner. We love this place, its facilities and our neighbors.”

-- Ludwik and Irma S., November 2014

“Michael Rothstein turned the sale of a parent's home from the nightmare I envisioned into an oddly enjoyable experience. His integrity, honesty, support, common sense and understanding were beyond comforting, and his knowledge of the real estate market and professionalism as a broker all combined to make me feel total confidence. He walked me through a very emotional and financially complicated time with kindness, competence, and a great sense of humor. I cannot recommend Michael enough as a broker and guide for real estate transactions.”

--Susan E., July 2014

“Michael was the best! He dealt masterfully with all aspects of our sale--pricing the property, writing a dazzling description, coaching us to get the house ready to show, handling the large and small matters involved in the sale--he approached everything with charm, intelligence and enthusiasm. He was always sensitive to our needs and requests. The end result was a successful sale in record time. We could not have wished for a more positive experience.”

-- Jean and Fred L., June 2014

“Just a quick note to let you know it was a great and smooth transaction – love to work with you again.”

-- Joanne F., June 2014

 

“Michael, thank you so much!

“It was really a pleasure to work with you. I quickly realized that your word is a word, that you are professional and experienced and that I can trust your judgment. Thank you!  My wife and I will be in Providence in August and September and definitely be in touch with you.

“Thanks for work well-done.”

-- Yechiel N., May 2014

"Thank you for being our Realtor and all that you did to aid us in selling the house.  You did a wonderful job and we are very appreciative of the successful outcome!"

-- Priscilla and Steve B., February 2014

“Thank you for being the consummate professional. We appreciate all your hard work and look forward to working with you again.”

-- Marty and Maureen C., August, 2013

"We were very pleased to have Michael as our Realtor and found him to be extremely professional and honest with us at all times. Since it was our first time as sellers, we were fortunate to have someone like Michael to offer us the advice we needed so as to make the selling process as smooth as possible and to help us sell our property in a very timely fashion. It was a pleasure working with Michael, and we would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a trustworthy broker."

-- Megan and Mike R., August 2013

"As a repeat customer I was happy to see us work in concert and get another property closed quickly and efficiently.

"Your knowledge of the area and specific property was the primary reason we got fast results in a competitive market. Looking forward to the next one, Mike!"

-- Nicholas D., July 2013

“As a couple buying our first home and moving to a new city, Mike made the transition an easy one. His knowledge of the area, patient explanations, and thorough discovery process made a tremendous difference and gave us comfort we were making the right decision. Even after buying our first home, Mike stayed in touch and provided free guidance on market trends in our area and around Boston. As we outgrew our initial home, Michael helped us find our new home and sell our old one. His professionalism, accountability and sincere desire to find us ‘just the right one’ made our experience an A+. Highly recommend him.”

—David I. and Kara G., January 2013

“Michael Rothstein was incredibly helpful during the long process of selling our house. From arranging to show it at the least inconvenience to us to walking us through each offer and managing all the details of the sale -- he was unfailingly patient, very knowledgeable, and wise. I can't imagine having done it without him.”

—Frinde M. and John M., January 2013

“Regarding your services, we cannot think of a better fit for us. You were available to the minute if not the second, eminently professional and a problem solver. You were able to keep the negotiations going with an eye to necessary concessions, but an overall fair and profitable outcome for us, The staging was fabulous and made the house pop. You and your team worked well together and we always knew there was a trustworthy person at the helm.”

—Sara M., December 2012

“We would like to express our appreciation for the many years of support that Michael Rothstein has given us over the years -- like 13 years to be exact. We met Michael at an apartment showing and immediately he proved of service in identifying a number of properties in and around Brookline, where we wanted to locate. Before long he showed us a condo apartment in an old building that enjoyed the only lawn and garden and huge carriage house in Brookline. We made an offer and found ourselves the proud owners of a unique, old fashioned-apartment with beautiful wood paneling and four fireplaces.

“We loved the place and remained there for 13 years. At a certain point we found it necessary to relocate out of the state and Michael was immensely helpful in arranging the offer and eventual sale of the condo in record time. He helped every step of the way, including the rectification of a few problems found in the inspection. These were resolved and Michael helped us choose among the three offers we received the first week on the market. The sale was eventually closed and we moved to our new location. Michael even set us up with a perfect agent in our new town, who also succeeded in finding us the perfect property, and again in record time.

“We can only say that Michael Rothstein is our real estate agent of the century and we will be forever grateful. We recommend his service without reservation.

“Thanks, again, Michael.”

-- Steve and Manana S., November 2012

“We are so pleased to have worked with Michael Rothstein. Our family was looking for a home in Newton at a time when the market was quite competitive. Multiple bids were being offered on homes, but we needed to stick to our budget. Michael was patient and kept us in the loop with all of the properties coming onto the market. When we found our dream home, Michael¹s experience and deep knowledge of the market were essential for us to make the right offer and get it accepted.”

-- Randy and Tracy B., July 2012

“Michael Rothstein is a pro’s pro... Professional, industrious, creative and most important, he got me great prices in a crappy market… And I’ve been at this for 40 years.”

—Ron S., August, 2012

“We could not have had a better experience selling our home with Michael Rothstein and Hammond Residential. Michael was incredibly professional, honest, and responsive to our needs, and he knows the local real estate market like no one else. Although we considered selling our home ourselves, choosing Michael and his Hammond team was the best choice we could have made. Not only did he advise us wisely from start to finish, he also quickly relieved our many anxieties along the way, and sold our house for top-dollar in a matter of days. We could never have achieved this ourselves. Michael made the entire selling experience stress-free and we would absolutely work with him again. We give him our highest recommendation.”

--Jennie and Andy G., August 2012

“Thanks for everything along the way – you have played a major part in my real estate journey and I can’t thank you enough!”

-- Rulla T., August 2011

“We have worked with Michael several times within the past 4 years in transactions involving the purchase of residential property in the Newton and Brookline areas. We have also referred him to other people who have expressed the highest level of satisfaction with his service. We have nothing but words of appreciation for his professional, knowledgeable and honest approach to real estate transactions. He is brilliant, able to grasp the needs of the buyer as well as recognize very quickly the potential opportunities available to fulfill those needs. He is easy to reach and to communicate with. He has guided us through multiple transactions at an efficient and quick pace while still maintaining the highest level of quality and precision in his work. Most important, he has not only represented us but has also exhibited a consistent commitment to protecting our interests and negotiating effectively on our behalf.”

-- Claudia and Jason B., July 2011

"Thank you for making this transaction go so smoothly, for helping us to find a place, for working out our financing and making purchasing our dream home a reality."

-- Lisa and Jason K., May 2011

“Awesome! Thanks for a terrific job, Mike! You'll have our highest recommendation going forward to all our friends.

-- Jon and Jodi E., May 2011

“We just wanted to say thank you for helping us find our future home. The process was a real pleasure and we always felt like we knew what was available the minute it came on the market. We can’t wait to finish this house. Stop by any time to see the progress!”

-- Jill and Brent, March 2011